Attention: LawAtlas has moved. This archived version of LawAtlas contains some datasets pending migration. Visit us at our new location, .


This page includes all state safety and health standards that have not been adopted identically from the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and that are meant to protect workers from specific workplace hazards in the mining industry.

Safety and health regulations and laws (also known as “standards”) can prevent deaths, injuries, and illnesses that can occur on the job. The 1970 Occupational Safety and Health Act established OSHA to protect workers from occupational safety and health hazards (although mining safety is regulated by a separate federal agency, the Mine Safety and Health Administration). The Act also permitted states to substitute their own rulemaking and enforcement agencies for federal OSHA, as long as the state programs are “at least as effective” as the federal agency. This page includes standards in the 25 states with such agencies.

Note that this map highlights states that have developed standards that apply only to mining employers. There may be additional standards under the General Industry dataset that also apply to the mining industry.

Related Resources

Federal OSHA's main page and state plans overview

Occupational Safety and Health State Plan Association (OSHSPA)

Federal Bureau of Labor Statistics’ occupational injuries, illness, and fatality data

AFL-CIO’s annual Death on the Job reports, documenting the scale of worker injury, illness, and death


See other maps for State Occupational Safety and Health Standards 

General Industry Construction Agriculture Maritime Oil and Gas


Sammy Almashat, MD, MPH

Public Citizen


Did you know?

California is the only state that has developed occupational safety and health standards for the mining industry.

Read more
Map Legend: State Included in research.