Attention: LawAtlas has moved. This archived version of LawAtlas contains some datasets pending migration. Visit us at our new location, .


This page includes all state safety and health standards that have not been adopted identically from the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and that are meant to protect workers from specific workplace hazards in the construction industry.

Safety and health regulations and laws (also known as “standards”) can prevent deaths, injuries, and illnesses that can occur on the job. The 1970 Occupational Safety and Health Act established OSHA to protect workers from occupational safety and health hazards. The Act also permitted states to substitute their own rulemaking and enforcement agencies for federal OSHA, as long as the state programs are “at least as effective” as the federal agency. This page includes standards in the 25 states with such agencies.

The questions on this page are based primarily on the classification of the federal OSHA regulations in 29 CFR 1926. We recommend that you refer to these federal regulations to assist in the interpretation of the dataset’s questions.

Note that this map contains all state standards that apply only to construction employers. There may be additional standards under the General Industry dataset that also apply to the construction industry.

Related Resources

Federal OSHA's main page and state plans overview

Occupational Safety and Health State Plan Association (OSHSPA)

Federal Bureau of Labor Statistics’ occupational injuries, illness, and fatality data

AFL-CIO’s annual Death on the Job reports, documenting the scale of worker injury, illness, and death


See other maps for State Occupational Safety and Health Standards 

General Industry Agriculture Maritime Oil and Gas Mining


Sammy Almashat, MD, MPH

Public Citizen


Did you know?

Seventeen states have developed their own occupational safety and health standards for the construction industry.

Read more
Map Legend: State Included in research.