Attention: LawAtlas has moved. This archived version of LawAtlas contains some datasets pending migration. Visit us at our new location, .

Recreational Marijuana Laws Map

At the federal level, the sale and possession of marijuana is illegal under the Controlled Substances Act of 1970. Alaska, Colorado, the District of Columbia, Oregon, and Washington State, however, have enacted laws that legalize marijuana use for recreational purposes. In these five jurisdictions, an individual 21 years old or older can possess a limited amount of marijuana. In Alaska, Colorado, and Washington, an individual can possess up to one ounce of marijuana, in the District of Columbia, an individual can possess up to two ounces, and in Oregon an individual can possess up to eight ounces. This dataset explores currently effective recreational marijuana laws, identifying which state agency regulates recreational marijuana, sale and possession restrictions, what tax rates are applied, licensing for retailers and cultivators, and other issues surrounding recreational marijuana.  

This page displays laws in effect through July 1, 2016. To explore the variation in these laws click the “Start Here” button below.

Related Resources

PHLR-funded research: Developing Public Health Regulations for Marijuana: Lessons Learned from Alcohol and Tobacco

A resource from the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy: Marijuana Resource Center: State Laws Related to Marijuana


phlr fb small

Did you know?

Alaska, Oregon, and Washington all allow out-of-state residents to purchase up to one ounce of marijuana.  

Read more
Map Legend: State Included in research.

Pick a year